Suman Thoudam and Sushila Chanu Pukhrambam in Indian team for 9th Women’s Asia Cup 2017, Japan

Suman Thoudam and Sushila Chanu Pukhrambam in Indian team for 9th Women’s Asia Cup 2017, Japan

Image: Suman Thoudam

Young hockey player Suman Thoudam and former Indian women’s hockey team captain Sushila Chanu Pukhrambam will be part of the 18-member Indian women’s hockey team which will take part in the 9th Women’s Asia Cup 2017. The Indian team will be led by captain striker Rani and vice-captain goalkeeper Savita.

Also read: Indian woman bodybuilder Kongbrailatpam Rebita was a wushu champion, joined bodybuilding to beat opponents in wushu fights!

The 9th Women’s Asia Cup 2017 will take place in Kakamigahara City, Gifu Prefecture, Japan from 28 October to 5 November 2017. It is a continental championship and a qualifying competition for the Women’s Hockey World Cup taking place in London, UK, from 7 to 21 July 2018. The competition format is Two Pool Competition (cross-over classification matches). Eight nations — India, China, Japan, Kazakhstan, Korea Malaysia, Singapore and Thailand will compete in the championship.

Also read: Europa Bhowmik wins silver, Thingbaijam Sarita bags bronze in 51st Asian Body Building & Physique Sports Championship 2017

Suman Thoudam was a member of the Indian youth hockey team which won the World Youth Hockey Tournament 2014 held in Netherlands. The eldest daughter of Thoudam Anand hails from Singjamei Monkhanglambi in Imphal. Both Suman and experienced Sushila will play as defenders for the team.

India have been placed in Pool A alongside China, Malaysia and Singapore and will start off their campaign at the Women’s Asia Cup 2017 against Singapore on Saturday, 28 October 2017 at 11.00hrs IST. The Indian team will train at SAI, Bengaluru until 23rd October, 2017 before their departure for Japan.

Also read: Competitions are near, but this player is on the road to seek donation

The Indian team will be represented by:

1. Savita (VC)
2. Rajani Etimarpu

3. Deep Grace Ekka
4. Sunita Lakra
5. Sushila Chanu Pukhrambam
6. Suman Thoudam
7. Gurjit Kaur

8. Nikki Pradhan
9. Namita Toppo
10. Monika
11. Lilima Minz
12. Neha Goyal

13. Rani (C)
14. Vandana Katariya
15. Lalremsiami
16. Sonika
17. Navneet Kaur
18. Navjot Kaur

Support Staff:
1. Harendra Singh (Chief Coach)
2. Erik Wonink (Coach)
3. Bharat Chetri (Coach)
4. Wayne Patrick Lombard (Scientific Advisor)
5. Sonika Sudan (Physiotherapist)
6. Amutha Prakash (Video Analyst)
7. Poonam Rani (Masseuse)


Facebook Comments
Share This!