10 wicket-taker Rajkumar Rex Singh becomes the first cricketer from Manipur to represent India

10 wicket-taker Rajkumar Rex Singh becomes the first cricketer from Manipur to represent India

Image: Rajkumar Rex Singh (Facebook/Rex Arkay)

Manipur’s sensational 18-year-old and 10 wicket-taker Rajkumar Rex Singh, a left-arm medium pacer became the first cricketer from Manipur to be selected for an Indian cricket team.

The Manipuri cricker was named for the U-19 squad to take on South Africa U-19 in a two-match ‘Test’ series, starting on February 20. He will become the second cricketer from northeast to represent India in any form after Assam fast bowler Abu Nechim Ahmed in U-19 World Cup 2006.

Rex, who had made headlines after claiming all 10 wickets in an innings in an Under-19 Cooch Behar Trophy match against Arunachal Pradesh in December last year, is expected to lead India’s new-ball attack against South Africa. It may be mentioned that in international cricket, Anil Kumble associated Jim Laker are the sole bowlers to possess taken 10 wickets in an playing period.

On the back of impressive performances in Cooch Behar Trophy, Rex was straight away included in Manipur’s Ranji Trophy squad.

The India U-19 team will be led by Rajasthan’s Suraj Ahuja in the two four-day matches.

Uttarakhand top-order batsman Avneesh Sudha, who scored 119 runs on his Ranji trophy debut this season, has also been included in India’s U-19 squad for the four-day matches.

Rajasthan’s Suraj Ahuja will lead the India U-19 team in the two four-day matches. Nehal Wadhera of Punjab and Rahul Chandrol of Madhya Pradesh will lead India A and B respectively.

Suraj Ahuja (C & WK) (Team Rajasthan), Divyaansh Saxena (MCA), Varun Nayanar (Kerala), Avneesh Sudha (Team Uttarakhand), Yashasvi Jaiswal (MCA), Vaibhav Kandpal (DDCA), Shaurya Saran (HPCA), Hrithik Shokeen (DDCA), Manav Suthar (Team Rajasthan), Manishi (JSCA), Sabir Khan (Bihar), Anshul Kamboj (Haryana), Rajvardhan Hangargekar (MHCA), Rohit Dattatraya (VCA), Rex Singh (Manipur), Vathsal Sharma (Kerala)

India U19 A: Nehal Wadhera (C) (PCA), Yashasvi Jaiswal (MCA), Qamran Iqbal (JKCA), Arjun Azad (PCA), Priyansh Arya (DDCA), Shashwat Rawat (BCA), Dhruv Chand Jurel (WK) (UPCA), Siddhesh Veer (MHCA), Ravi M Bishnoi (Team Rajasthan), Yuvraj Chaudhary (PCA), Shubhang Hegde (KSCA), Yatin Mangwani (MHCA), Ishan Afridi (MPCA), Kartik Tyagi (UPCA), Harsh Dubey (VCA), Akash Singh (Team Rajasthan)

India U19 B:
Rahul Chandrol (C & WK) (MPCA), Thakur Tilak Verma (HYCA), Varun Lavande (MCA), Arya Sethi (Team Uttarakhand), Pragnesh Kanpillewar (MCA), Pradosh Ranjan Paul (TNCA), Sameer Rizvi (UPCA), Nitish Reddy (Andhra CA), Prayas Rayburman (CAB), Shivam Sharma (UPCA), Atharva Ankolekar (MCA), Sumeet Juyal (Team Uttarakhand), Prabhat Maurya (CAB), Sushant Mishra (JSCA), Purnank Tyagi (UPCA), Karan Lal (CAB).

Also read: Saikhom Mirabai Chanu becomes world champion, wins the first gold for India in world weightlifting championships after two decades

Also read: Manipur government announces cash award of Rs. 5 Lakh for two times Guinness World Records holder Tiluck Keisam

Facebook Comments
Share This!