Countries with the most men’s ODI world cup cricket winning trophies

The first Cricket World Cup of the One Day International (ODI) cricket organised by the International Cricket Council (ICC) was held in 1975 in England. The first three events played in England only in daytimes were officially known as the Prudential Cup after the sponsors Prudential plc. In these three world cups, West Indies reached the finals and won the cups two times in a row. Out of eleven editions of the cricket world cup, Australia has won the cup for five times leaving behind India and West Indies. The team of Australia won the tournament in 1987, 1999, 2003, 2007 and 2015. The team is also the first country to make a hat trick in winning the world cup cricket.

Countries which have won the ICC World cup cricket are listed below:

Edition Year Venue Winner Runner-up
1 1975 Lord’s, London West Indies Australia
2 1979 Lord’s, London West Indies England
3 1983 Lord’s, London India West Indies
4 1987 Eden Gardens, Kolkata, India Australia England
5 1992 MCG, Melbourne, Australia Pakistan England
6 1996 Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore, Pakistan Sri Lanka Australia
7 1999 Lord’s, London Australia Pakistan
8 2003 Wanderers, Johannesburg, South Africa Australia India
9 2007 Kensington Oval, Bridgetown Australia Sri Lanka
10 2011 Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai, India India Sri Lanka
11 2015 MCG, Melbourne, Australia Australia New Zealand


Facebook Comments
Share This!